Sigerson Cup Winners Reunion

6 June 2014

St Mary’s University College had a reunion of the football team that won the Sigerson Cup back in 1989.

It was a star-studded Ranch outfit which overcame the challenges of University of Ulster Jordanstown, University College Galway, Queen’s University Belfast and University College Cork in an historic series twenty-five years ago.

The co-managers were Jim McKeever and Peter Finn, and St Mary’s was the first institution outside of the universities at the time to win the coveted trophy. The team captain was John Reihill of Fermanagh and vice-captain was Danny Quinn of Derry.   The team included the likes of Benny Tierney, Jarlath Burns, Pascal Canavan and Seamus Downey.

< back to News Archive