President's Awards

8 December 2017

Chomharle Uladh CLG

The College Principal received two awards at the prestigious President’s Awards Dinner held in the City Hotel Derry on Friday, 1 December.

The first award was received on behalf of the College senior football team in the category “Recognition of All-Ireland Winning Teams”. The Sigerson Cup victory was acknowledged by the Fear an Tí, Fergus Mac Aoidh.

Professor Peter Finn was also recognised by an award for service to the GAA through education. Fergus Mac Aoidh commented on Peter’s role in promoting Gaelic football and culture at St Mary’s since 1986, the part he played as the physical trainer of the Antrim senior hurling team which reached the All-Ireland final in 1989, his successful management of the senior football team at St Paul’s GAC, Belfast in the 1990s and his present role as the chairperson of the Ulster Higher Education Council.

St Mary’s alumnus, Peter Harte from County Tyrone, was awarded “Player of the Year”.

A good night for "The Ranch"!

< back to News Archive